The Legacy

11 Jun

This post is heavily inspired by Michael R. James, an Australian research scientist and writer. His article can be found here on ABC’s The Drum.

Today, I just want to share with you all, the legacy that was left behind by former PM, Gough Whitlam.

My father and I used to discuss Gough back when I was younger. His name is sometimes mentioned even now in political discussions. There is an air of great respect and admiration around these conversations. My father is a ‘boomer’ and his first election was in 1972 – the year that the ALP broke years of conservative rule.

Most people my age that I try to speak with about Gough are clueless. Blind to the progress that he gave Australia and the society that he set up – a society which we still live in today – based on social justice and democratic policy.

Here is the great legacy of a great man. I wish was around in his time to help campaign. What a time it would have been.

Name me one other Australian Prime Minister who made this much positive, social change.

One Response to “The Legacy”

  1. Peter Spicer-Wensley June 11, 2010 at 7:23 am #

    I was saddened to hear Gough has recently had to go into a nursing home. But then when I saw that he was about to turn 94 – I thought – fair enough! I hope it’s a flash one. He deserves the best treatment we can give him. That bastard Fraser has a lot to answer for. Best Wishes Gough. Thanks for the blog Simon.

Leave a Reply

