Public Announcement

5 Nov

I’ve been denying it for a long time now. However, the truth of the matter will always rise to the surface and as one man faces his demons long enough in the shadows, surely they will be brought out into the light for all to see. So why deny it further, just come clean about it and tell everyone:

I have a caffeine addiction.

No, seriously, I do.

It’s actually pretty bad. Yesterday was the first day in weeks that I didn’t start my day in the office with a nice tall columbian brew, just steaming away in front of me, roasted to absolute perfection with a fantastic froth of milk to top it off, just staring at me…. mocking me… “you need me”….

Sorry, anyway, yesterday was the first day in a long time that I didn’t have a coffee in the morning. The result:

Fever, Headache, Loss of focus in sight, No concentration. Not good. All this was by noon. I left work early, unable to think straight about any issue, no matter how trivial.

So there you go, people. I have bared my soul for all to see and judge and mock. You may commence your barrage of verbal abuse and violent imagery against someone who should be a role model for young people. I may lose my job over this, the ability to teach is diminishing as my addiction grows worse and worse.

As I type this, I am just finishing my first cup for the day… a tall latte… brewed to absolute perfection, that roasty taste of coffee beans steamed with frothy milk, I am lightheaded and in a temporary state of bliss…. I don’t even know if I’m actually typing this as my fingers speed type over the keyboard… something that I was unable to do yesterday.

Oh my…. I need another cup!

Leave a Reply

